Loop Stitch Jacket

On a recent trip to Sydney I spent my in-flight mode getting a very big crochet fix. It is a four and a half hour flight from Perth to Sydney – Australia is a BIG country!!! So on the way over I got onto my remnant scarf. I had a whole lot of 100%pure wool left over from my brooch making craze – a scarf was a great option!

Crocheted in half double crochet stitch (hdc) in the back loop of each stitch and crocheted in the same direction for each row (no turning at the end) it’s a lovely herring bone pattern and is lovely and long for draping or wrapping around in bulk to create a range of looks.

photo 4-2

So… that was on the way to Sydney. The trip home was a whole other story.

I finished up the remaining sections of an original pattern for a Loop-Stitch Jacket created in a Mohair/Wool blend. I have to say it was a very messy affair… I was covered in white fur from head to toe and as I began to brush it off before landing in Perth, I got the attention of the steward who looked rather amused and then realised I was brushing all the fur onto the carpet below… hmmm !!!!

photo 5             photo 4

Getting the Loop-stitch even is always the tricky thing. My previous attempt at a loop-stitch jacket was a great look but not so even in stitch length.

   IMG_4469            IMG_4464

The explanation that helped solve my consistency problem was found in an old crochet book… ‘Joan Fisher’s Guide to Crochet’ (1973).

photo 2

“insert hook into next st., y.o.h. pull through to make two loops on hook, to make loop stitch take yarn from back of first finger of left hand, draw hook though st and first loop on hook, y.o.h. again, draw through remaining two loops on hook,  drop  loop from finger, loop is formed”

photo 1-1photo 2-1photo 3-1photo 4-1

This way the loops are even as each loop is pulled from around the back of the first finger each time!!!

Brilliant.

Leave a Reply

