Pull Tab (Soda Tab) Crochet

I saw a bag made from pull tabs (off the top of soft drink/soda cans). It was crocheted and the tabs created an amazing ‘indie glomesh’…bigger and better than the original glomesh my grandma’s purse was made out of in the 70’s …so like all things interesting I decided it was something I could make too! There’s a long story to how I gathered enough pull tabs to make it… needless to say I appropriated them. Here’s how it is coming together so far…

Repeat the single crochet around the centre cross bar of the pull tab three times then single crochet before and after the treble from the row beneath.

 

11 thoughts on “Pull Tab (Soda Tab) Crochet

  1. I love the purse and if you don’t mind I would greatly appreciate it if you could send me the pattern. I have tons of pop tabs and am always looking for new patterns to use them for. Thanks.

    • You’ve got it in one. The very beginning is two pop tabs together. Then add two more, overlapping the first two by the holes. Continue like this and this method creates two rows at the same time. The next row you add becomes the third row.

      I forgot to mention though, that the method pictured here is quite different. It’s crochet through the pop tab knew at a time rather than crocheting them together.

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog. Happy crochet! Bindy.

Leave a Reply

